Broadband News

ISPA Awards 2018 winners announced

The 2018 ISPA Award ceremony has taken place at which the winners of the annual awards for the Internet industry have been announced. This years awards see Gigaclear picking up to two ISPAs and a year where no, sometimes controversial, Internet Villain has been announced gives a more positive approach to this years awards.

Winner for 2018 Award for Internet Hero

  • Martha Spurrier, Director of Liberty - for continuing to hold government to account by successfully challenging the Investigatory Powers Act (Snoopers Charter) in the High Court, leading to greater safeguards.
The 2018 ISPAs Winners
Best Superfast Broadband WinnerBest Superfast Broadband Commendation
Hyperoptic Community Fibre
Winning best superfast broadband for a sixth year in a row, the judges were impressed with Hyperoptic's upgraded speeds, expanded and growing network and IPv6 support. The judges decided to award Community Fibre with a commendation for their commitment to provide gigafast connectivity for free to community facilities, sheltered schemes and primary schools across the areas they roll out to.
Best Rural BroadbandBest Business Broadband Winner
Gigaclear Glide
Winning for the second year running, the judges felt that Gigaclear were worthy winners for continuing to grow and expand their successful Fibre-to-the-Home model in rural areas - making the harder to reach, easier to reach. In a closely fought battle, Glide took the prize for going to places others have not, including meeting the needs of poorly served business parks and making a success of Openreach’s physical infrastructure access infrastructure..
Best Business Broadband CommendationBest Wholesale Broadband
M24Seven Entanet
In a hotly contested category, the Judges also decided to Commend M24Seven for their customised solutions, backed up by a truly resilient service. Entanet took the best Wholesale award after an impressive year that has seen added investment, a strong wholesale operation, good access to fibre and real potential to significantly transform the market.
Best ISP PR CampaignBest Host Winner
Post Office ‘Optimise & Improve’ campaign Krystal Hosting
In the inaugural year of this category, the judges felt that the Post Office pipped the competition with their well-planned and executed campaign which demonstrated their transparent service with no hidden skeletons and with a good, clear return on investment. In an extremely close fought category Krystal took the prize for protecting their customers from emerging threats, including DDoS protection, but also their charitable efforts.
Best Host CommendationExecutive of the Year
Storm Internet Matthew Hare OBE, Former CEO and Founder, Gigaclear
In recognition of the particularly strong competition in this category, the judges decided to award a commendation to previous winners, Storm Internet, for their continued high-quality hosting service. In another competitive year for this category the judges were pleased to award the trophy to Matthew Hare OBE, former CEO and founder of Gigaclear, who, rather than merely talking about it, went ahead and delivered FTTP in rural areas, helping transform rural communities.
Best VoIPBest Customer Service
Gradwell Memset
In a closely contested category, the judges felt Gradwell were just that bit better than the competition, commenting on their consistent, high-quality service. The judges agreed that Memset’s customer service culture of multi-channel feedback, transparency and processes across all aspects of the business, allied with impressive feedback scores, made them deserved winners.
Best Project or PartnershipSecurity Award
Wifinity Talk Straight
In this this inaugural category, Wifinity ticked all the right boxes for the judges who were particularly impressed with support of hostels for the homeless, doing the right thing at such an important time, and reminding everyone of how the Internet can help support the vulnerable. Winning for the second year running, the judges felt that Talk Straight’s focus on schools, starting the education and awareness on the importance of cyber security as early as possible, along with impressive customer support, made them deserved winners.
Twentieth Anniversary Award
Internet Watch Foundation
The Internet Watch Foundation were awarded this special award for their continued commitment to keeping the Internet a safer environment for over 20 years and an international example of how industry can work in partnership to tackle challenging online issues.

Congratulations to all those winners! It's good to see some new names rolled in to the familiar names who are obviously keeping up their high standards. More details and photos can be found at the ISPA Awards website.


It is a shame that Gigaclear's rollouts are slipping dates - I suspect they have overstretched themselves, and may find it hard to win again next year.

  • sheephouse
  • over 2 years ago

Post a comment

Login Register