Broadband News

2010 ISPA awards now open for entries

The 2010 ISPA awards (ISPAs) are now open for entries, and this year include two new awards - the Access Innovation Award, designed to reward those who have shown innovation in getting services to notspots and the Digital Inclusion Award which rewards those who have helped socially or economically disadvantaged people get online.

As ever, the usual awards are open to help define the best ISP in various categories including consumer and business broadband, mobile broadband, customer service, hosting and telephony. Awards are based on both technical testing and an independent judging panel which should help identify the best.

The two interesting categories are Internet Hero and Internet Villain which recognise people who have worked to help develop (or hinder) the Internet industry in the past year. One suggestion for Villain could be Lord Mandelson for his work on the Digital Economy Bill and the controversial clause 17 which would give the Secretary of State the right to change Internet copyright laws without debate or scrutiny, if it gets passed by Government.

The winners of the awards will be announced in July 2010.


Whilst i would expect Lord Peter to be the bookies favorite, IMHO he would see it as a badge of honour to be holding back internet development in this country,and would quite probably trigger some sort of bonus payment in kind for looking after his chums interests , i'm sure more than a meal or a watch will be in order if he gets away with this bill anyhow.

  • Aqualung
  • over 8 years ago

ISPA awards are a pointless joke and have been for a few years, they seem to only consider a small selection of ISPs. A small ISP with only a few customers rarely has a chance of winning anything noteworthy, even if every single customer is over the moon with them.

  • over 7 years ago

@carpetburn. It is even worse than that. Small ISPs are not even eligible for inclusion in most (if not all) award categories.

  • grahammm
  • over 7 years ago

"A small ISP with only a few customers rarely has a chance of winning anything noteworthy, even if every single customer is over the moon with them."

Not true at all.

They just have to be a member of the ISPA Council (or similar) first, and then they have every chance of winning (check it out over the last few years, two very obvious ones, maybe more I don't remember).

  • c_j_
  • over 7 years ago

^^^ Oh so rather than judge as a whole market its judged on their selective clique of members.... Again pointless

  • over 7 years ago

The annual contradiction awards. I would be willing to bet the best ISP awards go to the ISPs with the worst speeds, reliability and customer services. Of course I couldn't bet on it cos any bookie with half an ounce of sense wouldn't take the bet.

  • JDPower
  • over 7 years ago

Indeed JDPower, heres just a few funny prior results for 2009. Best BUSINESS email=Eclipse LOL... Best consumer ISP=Plusnet (The choices were BT, Orange, PlusNet, Tiscali, Virgin, Vispa) How Orange and Tiscali even got considered is beyond me.
To round off... Internet Hero=Peter Robbins OBE QPM, Chief Executive, IWF. The organisation which makes pointless blocks (See ukonline forums for plenty about the IWF filtering lists)... Pathetic.

  • over 7 years ago

Well if Tiscali can win an award like they did a few years ago then i would agree they are meaningless,and are some what misleading to the new people looking for a good isp,

  • tommy45
  • over 7 years ago

Post a comment

Login Register