Broadband News

8th Annual UK Internet Industry Awards Winners

It is the time of year when if you visit London you will be stumbling over awards ceremonies left, right and centre. The UK Internet Industry had its eight annual ISPA awards ceremony on the evening of Thursday 23rd February at a gala dinner. The evening was compared by comedian Dominic Holland, with a room full of techies presented a potentially unique experience. All the categories and winners are listed below:

Best Dial-Up sponsored by Brightfilter

BISCit Internet

Best Hosting Provider sponsored by VeriSign


Best Portal sponsored by mnet


Best Streaming Service sponsored by Bulldog

Groovy Gecko

Best Uncontended Service sponsored by Alcatel

Zen Internet

Best Light Business Broadband sponsored by BT Wholesale

Exa Networks

Best Light Consumer Broadband sponsored by Caudwell Logistics

UK Online

Best Heavy Business Broadband sponsored by Huawei Technologies

Zen Internet

Best Heavy Consumer Broadband sponsored by Axiom Systems


Best Sumo Business Broadband sponsored by Hostopia

Telewest Business Essentials

Best Sumo Consumer Broadband sponsored by F-Secure

Be Unlimited

Best Business ISP sponsored by Cisco Systems

Zen Internet

Best Consumer ISP sponsored by MasterCard


The Internet Watch Foundation Award for Developments in Online Safety sponsored by Pipex

Virtual Global Taskforce

The Internet Villain Award sponsored by Community Internet

The UK Presidency of the European Union

The Internet Hero Award sponsored by NTL Wholesale

All Party Parliamentary Internet Group (APIG)

A full list of nominees and winners can be found on the ISPA website. Be Unlimited made a strong showing by winning the Best Sumo Consumer Broadband award, while Be is a new entrant to the UK market, it seems the judging panel recognised the challenge Be is making to the larger and entrenched providers. Zen Internet did very well winning three awards, and after the speeches they gave will perhaps win another from Rochdale tourist board.

Update 4:15pm Correction to the The Internet Villain Award which was actually won by the The UK Presidency of the European Union, not Virtual Global Taskforce who won the The Internet Watch Foundation Award for Developments in Online Safety.


Post a comment

Login Register