Broadband News

ISPA Announces nominees for Internet Hero and Villain awards

The Internet Services Providers' Association (ISPA UK) is holding its eighth annual UK Internet Industry Awards with a ceremony at the London Marriott in Grosvenor Square on 23 February 2006.

ISPA has announced the nominees for three award categories:

Internet Watch Foundation Award for Developments in Online Safety

Get Safe Online For raising public awareness of online safety issues and providing home users and small businesses with reliable, up-to-date information about using the Internet safely.
Know IT All For helping to make children develop safe behaviour when using the Internet or a mobile phone.
Parents Centre For providing parents and carers with a centre of reference for information about their children’s education and online safety advice.
UK Children Go Online For the valuable contribution the two-year research project made to academic debate and policy frameworks surrounding children’s use of the Internet.
Virtual Global Taskforce For the partnership between worldwide law enforcement agencies and the Internet Industry which is working to make the Internet a safer place for children.

Internet Hero Award

All Party Parliamentary Internet Group (APIG) For its recommendations to amend the Computer Misuse Act (CMA) to further protect individual websites and the infrastructure of the Internet against the threat of distributed denial-of-service (DDOS) attacks.
Independent Office of the Telecommunications Adjudicator For helping to develop new Local Loop Unbundling (LLU) products and processes, and for mediating working-level implementation disputes.
Ofcom For not wrecking the 0845 regime used to access pay-as-you-go (PAYG) Internet services.
Ofcom For recognising its role in ensuring that Service Providers deliver on their quality of service promises to end-users.
Roger Darlington For his hard work as Chairman of the Internet Watch Foundation (IWF) from which he retires this year.

Internet Villain Award

Commissioner Reading For the revision of the TV without Frontiers Directive which threatens ISPs by extending the scope of broadcasting regulation to content delivered via the Internet, in a market which is not yet fully developed.
The European Commission The European Commission for its inability to get through one year without producing yet another piece of Intellectual Property Legislation.
Russia For failing to deal with illegal websites and online abuse hosted within its borders.
Sony BMG For compromising the security of its customers’ PCs with its copyright-protecting rootkit technology.
The UK Presidency of the European Union For seeking EU wide data retention laws which will force ISPs and telcos to retain more data for longer without proper impact assessment.

The winners for the Internet Watch Foundation (IWF) Award will be selected by the IWF whilst the Internet Hero and Villain awards will be selected by the ISPA Council. The winners of the ISP section awards (for broadband ISPs, etc.) will be decided separately by a judging panel.

More information on


Post a comment

Login Register