Broadband News

North East to have all exchanges ADSL enabled by March 2005

BT Wholesale and ONE NorthEast have announced details to bring ADSL to all the exchanges in the North East that are currently not enabled. The good news is that this should mean that by March 2005 all exchanges in North East England will have ADSL available.

This step to bring ADSL to every community in the North East is to be welcomed, and while not every household will neccessarily be able to get ADSL due to the technical limitations the vast majority should be able to receive the service. For those people who are out of reach of ADSL under its current technical limits BT Wholesale is looking at and researching the alternatives that should further increase the footprint of ADSL from each exchange.

The Prime Minister, Rt Hon Tony Blair MP who visited his local exchange (Trimdon) to see it being upgraded for ADSL, had the following to say on these latest developements: "Information technology is transforming our world and broadband is at the forefront of this revolution. By speeding up communication, broadband is opening up new opportunities in almost every area of our lives."

The critical thing that people want to know, is when will their exchange be ready for an ADSL service? We have the list for exchanges that are affected by the ONE North East partnership and as the RFS dates are confirmed they will be added to the BT Wholesale demand tracker and sites that monitor this.

ONE NorthEast Broadband Project Exchange Phase One, RFS date of 19th March 2004

Brotton Dudley Easington Loftus

ONE NorthEast Broadband Project Exchange Phase One, RFS date of 26th March 2004

Allendale Alnmouth Belsay Burnopfield
Greatham Haltwhistle Haydon Bridge Humshaugh

ONE NorthEast Broadband Project Exchange Phase Two, RFS by end of June 2004

Allenheads Barnard Castle Capheaton Croft
Dipton Edmundbyers Felton Hartburn
Hylton ICI Wilton Longhorsley Longhoughton
Powburn Riding Mill Rushyford Sacriston
Slaley Whorlton Willington

ONE NorthEast Broadband Project Exchange Phase Three, RFS by end of September 2004

Blaydon Bowes Castleton Cockfield
Coldstream Corbridge Cotherstone Great Whittington
Red Row Skelton Stannington Ulgham
West Auckland Wylam

ONE NorthEast Broadband Project Exchange Phase Four, RFS by end of December 2004

Charlton Mires Crookham Gainford Kirkwhelpinton
Middleton in Tees Mindrum Newbrough Norton
Otterburn Sherburn Hill Tow Law Wellfield

ONE NorthEast Broadband Project Exchange Phase Five, RFS by end of February 2005

Alston Ancroft Bamburgh Bardon Mill
Barningham Beal Belford Bellingham
Birgham Blanchland Chathill Chatton
Dinsdale Eastgate Embleton Forest in Teesdale
Frosterley Gilsland Great Smeaton Greenhaugh
Hallbankgate Harbottle Hartburn (TY) Haverton Hill
Hepple Holy Island Hutton Rudby Kielder
Longframlinton Lowick Milfield Netherton
Norham Paxton Piercebridge Rothbury
Scots Gap Seahouses Seal Sands Shilbottle
Stillington Wark Wearhead West Woodburn
Whalton Whitfield Whittingham Witton Le Wear
Wolviston Wooler Wooperton


Post a comment

Login Register